Return to News List

RECAP: Otters notch eighth consecutive win Tuesday



JOLIET, Ill. – The Evansville Otters picked up their eighth win in a row after beating the Joliet Slammers in a scrappy, 3-2 ballgame Tuesday night, marking their longest winning streak since August 2013.


After starters Tim Holdgrafer (EVV) and Cam Aufderheide (JOL) traded two scoreless frames, the Otters broke through for their only runs of the night in top of the third. 


Miles Gordon broke the scoreless tie with an RBI groundout, and was followed by two-out RBI knocks from Andy DeJesus and J.R. Davis.


Tim Holdgrafer would hold the Slammers scoreless until the sixth, when they broke through for two runs of their own.


With runners at second and first and only one out, Tyler Spring came on to relieve Holdgrafer in a 3-2 game during the top of the sixth. Spring got the next two outs and pitched a scoreless seventh to boot.


Taylor Wright came on out of the bullpen to start and finish a 1-2-3 eighth. Logan Sawyer locked down the save, his sixth of the year, and sent the Otters to their 18th win of the season.


Tim Holdgrafer earned his second win of the season, while Cam Aufderheide took the loss.


The Otters will look for nine in a row Wednesday night, with a 7.05 p.m. first pitch. Fans can catch an audio broadcast on the Evansville Otters YouTube channel with a 6:50 p.m. pregame show.


The Evansville Otters are the 2006 and 2016 Frontier League champions.


The Otters play all home games at historic Bosse Field, located at 23 Don Mattingly Way in Evansville, Ind. Stay up-to-date with the Evansville Otters by visiting, or follow the Otters on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


For more information, visit or call (812) 435-8686.

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Get in the Game

Be the first to know about news, events and MORE!


Frontier League 2006, 2016
Est. 1995, Evansville